Delicious Recipes and Treats

The Best Breakfast In the World!

I don’t know about you, but breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. 🙂 I always feel so refreshed and ready to tackle my day after a good, hearty breakfast! I love to make something special for breakfast and the thing that I like to make the most are crepes. For those of you who may not know what a crepe is, it is a thin, and light pancake usually filled with something creamy and topped with fruit or syrup. Crepes can be made sweet or savory, but I personally prefer the sweet ones! 😉

crepe2I have made a variety of different kinds of crepes, (both sweet and savory) and I will share with you my favorite kind; Blueberry Blintzes. Just thinking about them makes me hungry! :0

Blueberry Blintzes

                        Ingredients:

                           For the Crepes:

                                2/3 cup all purpose flour, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 3 eggs, 1 1/2 cup milk, and 2 Tablespoons of butter; melted.

                           For the Filling:

                                1 cup (8 oz) of cottage cheese, 1 package (3 oz) of cream cheese, 1/4 cup of sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.

                            For the Blueberry Sauce:

                                     1 cup of sugar, 1 cup of water, 2 Tablespoons of corn starch, 1 1/2 cup of fresh/frozen blueberries. (We use freshly picked, Alaskan blueberries!)

  To assemble the crepes: Whisk together the flour and salt. Add the eggs, milk, and butter and whisk until combined. Heat a lightly greased, small skillet and pour 3 to 4 Tablespoons of batter in the pan. Lift and tilt pan until it is evenly coated with batter. Cook until the top appears to be dry, then flip and cook the otherside for 20-30 seconds longer. Remove to a wire wrack and repeat with the remaining batter. Every few crepes, spray your pan again.

To assemble the filling: In a blender, blend the cream cheese until smooth. Transfer to a bowl and beat in the cream cheese until smooth. Add the sugar and vanilla; mixing well. Spoon about 2 Tablespoons of filling in the middle of each crepe and fold the sides of the crepe over the filling; placing the crepes in a 9×13 inch pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes, or until hot.

To assemble the sauce: Bring water, sugar, and cornstarch to a boil. Boil for 3 minutes. Add the blueberries and continue to cook until the sauce is thickended and the berries are tender. Once done, melt 1 Tablespoon of butter in the sauce to give it some texture, then pour the sauce over your pan of crepes.

Enjoy! 🙂

blintz

11 thoughts on “The Best Breakfast In the World!

      1. Hi Shiparah, its Odessa from the Ron Paul forums, I sign my name as Dessie over there. I love crepes! My dad comes from Romania, and his mother, our grandmother, or Bunica in Romanian, likes to make sort of “Romanian Crepes” Where she makes crepes and fills them with this sweetish creamy cheese filling. Her crepes are so fluffy and light, they melt in your mouth! Mmmm… Our family loves to make crepes, then fill them with Nutella, a chocolate hazelnut spread, and top with whipped cream! These crepes look so good! We’ll have to try them.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hi Dessie! Those crepes sound really good! I love to make all different kinds of crepes, banana, apple, Nutella……..and my very favorite one isn’t a sweet crepe, it is savory. It is called Alaskan Salmon Sourdough Crepes. Those are SO good!! I might have to post a recipe about them! 😉

        Like

      1. This recipe is easy. Watch the videos too. Gretchen is really funny. This is what I use to do all of my buttercream decorations. Which is what you start with. You should try this first. https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=8pxduFFB&id=A3DEDAD268A5DAA16558186C3AAC6B0D1D7AB279&q=simple+rose+cake&simid=608038109134718098&selectedIndex=55&qpvt=simple+rose+cake&ajaxhist=0
        All you do is use a tip for a cupcake (1M tip) and starting in the middle make a circle. Do it in different colors to make it pop. And, don’t mind my know it all attitude. Lol I come off that way when I try to teach someone what I do. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

