Alaskan Family Adventures · Home · Uncategorized

An Inspiration To All: Anna Christine Blackard Dorman

Wednesday September 14, at around 5:30pm I lost something very special and dear to my heart. My great-grandmother Nonnie, who was not only family; but an amazing mentor and role model for me died in a car accident.

It wasn’t expected or anticipated, she was the picture of health for her 80 years. Fit as a fiddle, with a great zeal for life. I was shocked and astounded when I heard the news. I didn’t know what to think, it must be a joke. There is no way that Nonnie could be dead, hadn’t I just seen her a month ago? In an instant, all my hopes for the future were shattered.

I had been thinking about Nonnie a lot for the past year, and this last summer I felt like I should go and visit her for a few weeks. She was getting older and I really wanted some quality time with her before she passed on. As I stayed with her, and hung out with her; having movie nights, visiting, and constantly running around from place to place, I saw how healthy she was for her age and saw no reason why she couldn’t stay with us for at least ten more years to come.

I keep thinking about the 2 weeks I spent with her this summer and how thankful I am that I was able to spend that time with her. It was weeks well spent. I will never forget the last summer that I spent with my Nonnie. We had so much fun together, we stayed up past midnight a couple of nights watching movies and eating snacks, she let me drive her around, and we had some great conversations. I am so blessed to have had such a great grandma. I love her so much, I can hardly put it into words.

She had always been a role model for me and someone I aspired to be like. I have always dreamed of telling her about a certain “special someone” and getting her advice; her opinion of him would be highly coveted.  Another girlish fantasy of mine was the special day of when I get married and start a family of my own. I really wanted her to witness that and be there for me on my special day. Even though she won’t be there in person, I know she will be watching it from above, and I will be able to feel her presence with me as if she was there herself.

Nonnie was the most selfless, and caring person I have ever met. She was always thinking about other’s needs before herself. I have never once seen her be impatient, or upset. She was always calm and peaceful. Only kind words came out of her mouth. She was the perfect role model for any girl, and I have never met anyone else who portrayed the fruits of the spirit as accurately as Nonnie did. But, all of these virtues aren’t my favorite thing about my Nonnie however; my favorite memory of Nonnie that I will always cherish, is her scent. I know, it sounds weird, but it is true. Her scent is calming and peaceful; it reminds me of her loving hugs and caring hands.

There is one dress in my closet that still smells like my Nonnie. She had insisted on washing and pressing it for me. No matter how many times I told her she didn’t have to bother and that I could do it myself; she insisted and I gave in. After washing and ironing it, Nonnie hung it in her closet so that it wouldn’t get crushed in my suitcase. That dress brings on a flood of memories about Nonnie, because of its smell. I wish I could put it in a bottle and keep it forever.

I am going to miss her very much, and am looking forward to the day when I can see her again. I will always cherish her memory and use it to remind me of what a life lived for Christ truly looks like.

image image

Thank you Nonnie for all the ways that you used your life to  influence the people around you; you will always be close to my heart. You gave me so much, and I will never forget it!

-Love you to the moon and back-

Shiphrah

 

 

5 thoughts on “An Inspiration To All: Anna Christine Blackard Dorman

Leave a Reply

